Tesla takes Full Self-Driving feature to a monthly subscription

Watch on YouTube ↗  |  January 14, 2026 at 16:39  |  2:37  |  CNBC
Speakers
Phil LeBeau — Auto & Airlines Reporter, CNBC

Summary

CNBC's Phil Lebeau reports that Tesla will offer Full Self-Driving only as a monthly subscription, starting at $99 per month on February 14. He notes analyst estimates that a mid-teens to high-teens percentage of US Tesla vehicles actively use FSD, though Tesla does not disclose the data. The change is framed as a push to increase FSD adoption and better identify potential users for Tesla's future robotaxi network, with Cybercab production expected later this year.

  • Tesla shifts Full Self-Driving to a monthly subscription-only model at $99 per month starting February 14.
  • Tesla previously offered FSD as an $8,000 one-time purchase or a subscription.
  • Tesla does not disclose FSD subscription or active-use figures.
  • Analysts estimate 12% to 15% of US Teslas actively use FSD, possibly 17% to 18%.
  • Cybercab production is expected to begin in fuller volume later this year.
  • The timing of Tesla's robotaxi network remains uncertain.
  • The subscription change may help Tesla gauge active FSD users for robotaxi deployment.
Ideas
Phil LeBeau Auto & Airlines Reporter, CNBC 0:30
Tesla FSD subscription supports robotaxi strategy.
Tesla is moving Full Self-Driving to a subscription-only model at $99 per month starting February 14, which should encourage more owners to use FSD and give Tesla better visibility into potential participants in its future robotaxi network; Cybercab production is expected to ramp later this year, though the timing of an actual robotaxi network remains uncertain. This is a developing strategic catalyst for Tesla shares.
Up Next

This CNBC video, published January 14, 2026, features Phil LeBeau discussing TSLA. 1 trade idea extracted by AI with direction and confidence scoring.

Speakers: Phil LeBeau  · Tickers: TSLA